The Muddy River

When the butterflies flew
I ran in the other direction
Playing it safe
Always playing it safe

Now I stand on the banks of a muddy river
Searching for what I once held so dear
It’s no longer here
To not find it again is my biggest fear

I want to stick my head under
To see if it’s hiding there
But my eyes will not see
Through the muddy water

Sometimes I think of holding my head under
And keeping it there
Just keeping it there
Until brown water fills my lungs
Until I no longer can breathe in the air

When the butterflies flew
I ran in the other direction
Playing it safe
Forever playing it safe

Now I stand on the banks of a muddy river
Watching it calmly flow by
And wondering why


Copyright © 2016 Mr. Flying Pig

Leave a Reply

