Scars

I am proud of my scars
They have made me who I am
A better person than I would have been
Without them
I am glad to have endured their agony
I am glad I felt their pain
So I could learn to never submit
Others to endure the same
They taught me to be kind
To empathize

Realizing the person across from me
May be hiding their own scars
Sometimes I can see them
Sometimes I can feel them
I don’t want to cause them any more
Because I know how it feels
All too well

I am proud of my scars
Even though I wish I didn’t have them
They have taught me so much
Empathy
Though sometimes I hide them away
Inside what I try to personify
And present on the outside
Confidence and self-assurance
But that’s not really who I am

I am proud of my scars
Though sometimes hard to endure
They drive and motivate me
They make me dig in and try harder
They are who I have become
And who I will be

I am proud of my scars
And I thank everyone
Who gave them to me


Copyright © 2015 Mr. Flying Pig

9 thoughts on “Scars”

Leave a Reply

