My Opinion About Michael Moore’s Comments regarding ‘American Sniper’

I was just chatting with my best friend who had asked me whether I felt the movie ‘American Sniper’ was worth seeing. During the conversation, we transitioned to a brief conversation regarding the recent comments made by Michael Moore regarding the movie. I’m sure you are familiar with what Mr. Moore said, so I will not bother to repeat it here (if you are not, please crawl out from under the rock you have been hiding under and Google it). That conversation having just ended, I am finding myself in a rather emotional state, needing to reiterate my opinion on Michael Moore’s comments to more than just one person.

So here goes.

Michael Moore is a stupid fucking asshole.

War sucks. It’s cold, brutal, inhumane, and unforgiving. I served four years of active duty in the U.S. Army and two more in the active reserve. During that time, I never had to go to fight in a war. I never had to kill anyone, nor did I have to see anybody die. I am glad I never had to go to war, although I would have, if called to do so. That was a decision I made when I enlisted. Yes, war sucks. But sometimes it is inevitable for the greater good.

I am sorry that Michael Moore’s grandfather died. I am sorry for Michael’s loss. But that is part of why war sucks – people die. Good people. Honorable people. War is not fair.  To call anyone who served with honor a coward is a slap in the face to all who have served, including Michael Moore’s grandfather. Needless to say, as a veteran, I took Mr. Moore’s comments as a very personal slap in my face. Being such, I feel the need to voice my opinion once more:

Michael Moore is a stupid fucking asshole.

He’s entitled to his opinion.

But he’s still a stupid fucking asshole.


Copyright © 2015 Mr. Flying Pig

Leave a Reply

