A Rose on the Sidewalk

Last to be picked
First to be picked on
It made me kinder
It made me stronger
It made me better
But it didn’t feel better back then
It made me draw myself under
It made me fail to believe
It made me feel nothing but naive

Sometimes I felt like withering away
Withering away like a rose on the sidewalk on a hot summer day

Once to be used
Twice to be used up
I could’ve let it slide
I could’ve let it ride
I could’ve let it fly
But the past isn’t easily forgotten
It made me bury it all under
It made me not want to believe
It made me feel nothing but deceived

Sometimes I felt like wilting away
Wilting away like a rose on the sidewalk on a hot summer day

Lost to be loved
Found to be loved by
You gave me trust anew
You gave me what is true
You gave me all of you
And my life was changed forever
You made me dig out from under
You made me not want to flee
You made me do nothing but believe

Somehow you saved me from wasting away
Wasting away like a rose on a sidewalk on a hot summer day


Copyright © 2014 Mr. Flying Pig

Leave a Reply

