Card of Irony

I didn’t want to play that card of irony
I wanted to draw another
But then where it took me
Would have been written on my sleeve
I wondered
If it was already written on my face

So I played the card of irony
Because I had to
Just as I had to play into your hands
Just as you played me
Years ago
I hoped nobody noticed
How it hit me right between the eyes

A choice had to be made
It wasn’t a choice I wanted to make
But at least the odds were in my favor
Any card but yours
Choose wisely
I did
And I was relieved

Yet I couldn’t help but wonder
When all was said and done
Which card it was you laid down
Was it personal?
Meant to hit me right between the eyes?
Or did you not think about it at all?
As I tried not to
It was after all
Just a game
And it was only a card of irony


Copyright © 2014 Mr. Flying Pig

Leave a Reply

