Washed Out Moon

What were you thinking?
Did you deceive every word?
I should know that in your world of firsts I’ll always come in third
But that’s okay
Because at the end of the day
I’m happy with who I am
Can you say the same?
Can you tell me how it feels to be playing the game?
Once again
Is that what you wanted?
Is it the life of which you dreamed?
Or the tarnished silver reflection that one day could have gleamed?

I don’t understand
Then again, I didn’t ask why
So often we throw our hands up in the air before we even try
That’s the easy way
And no matter what you might say
My road holds more rewards
It’s all about you
The only selfish act you’ve done or will ever do
What a joke
It’s your guiding principle
Your defining first resort
To you, I will always be a day late and a dollar short

Don’t get me wrong
Words spoken still ring true
But the here and now holds the key to the mystery of the clue
The colors change
And your home out on the range
Sits right outside a ghost town
That’s wasted away
And the heat from your ego has baked your heart of clay
Into stone
One day you will turn around
And maybe learn the reason why
A washed out moon hangs low and still in your misty midnight sky

_________________________
Copyright © 2014 Mr. Flying Pig

Leave a Reply

