Morning Bike Commute

The sun hangs low
A dim white orb
Obscured by the thick fog
On a cool autumn morn

The trees are changing colors
Red, orange, yellow, brown
And of course still some green
As I pedal down the path well worn

The cars drive by
Along Hines Drive
Flustered by the traffic
Always in a hurry

I have scents of morning air
Cool, brisk, and so fresh
Clearing spirit and mind
As I ride I have not a worry

Into the woods
Foliage and trees
The lazy river bridge
Critters scamper and hide

Up the hill to the clearing
Bright sun lifts the fog
My journey almost done
My only thought “this is why I ride”


Copyright © 2014 Mr. Flying Pig

Leave a Reply

