Shades of Gray

I’ve come to realize that this is where I’m supposed to be
Dragging a stick across a rusty chain link fence
Knowing one day it will all make perfect sense

As the night fades into day
I see the different shades of gray
And realize that in the hour of need
I have to let the colors bleed

Still, I often wonder…
Is it raining in California?

Like a still set pond the past reflects a distant memory
Gently shattered by a single drop of rain
Seasons change and the waters still again

And the different shades of gray
Take the cold of the night away
The warmth from letting colors bleed
Is all I’ll ever really need

Still, I often wonder…
Is it raining in California?

Desperation set in motion the wheels of a desired fantasy
To move forward I must leaven this to thought
And release the dream that was wrongfully sought

And the different shades of gray
Mold our emotions out of clay
So that only when we let colors bleed
Will the past become the future’s seed

Still, I often wonder…
Is it raining in California?

_________________________
Copyright © 2014 Mr. Flying Pig

One thought on “Shades of Gray”

Leave a Reply

