For Helen (Just Because)

I write these words
Just because
Just because I want to

I don’t always say or show
What you want me to say and show
Sometimes I think you should just know
My status quo

I don’t make it easy for you
With all my talking and the things I do
Can’t help but wonder why you never flew
Your heart stayed true

I write these words
Just because
Just because I need to

Sand flows through the glass of time
My time with yours and yours with mine
Like a gold pocket watch you never wind
Your hand in mine

As our days of youth fade to gray
What I feel inside will not fade away
Forever here with you is where I’ll stay
Both night and day

I write these words
Just because
Just because I love you

_________________________
Copyright © 2014 Mr. Flying Pig

Leave a Reply

