Change of Heart

Nothing but change in my pocket
That’s all it ever was
But I treated it like it was gold
So afraid to lose it
Thought it was all I’d ever have
“It’s not real” a voice said to me
“It’s not the gold”
“you need to find the gold”
But I didn’t listen
I didn’t believe
All I believed in
Was the change in my pocket
Then one day
I noticed it was gone
There must have been a hole
For all the coins were gone
Except for one
I took it to a well
Where they say wishes come true
I tossed in my coin
And I wished for gold

_________________________
Copyright © 2014 Mr. Flying Pig

Leave a Reply

