The Keys

Expression is trapped within the keys
Wanting to escape
It’s my job to help them find a way
To let it out
They speak to me
And they speak through me
They speak my unspoken language
For this moment
And help me to say
What I don’t know I want to say
They are my conscience
My memories
My joy and pain
They help me cope
But they also lead me to reason
They bring me joy
And sometimes express my pain
Or sorrow
Or anger
The keys become an extension
Of who I am
Who I once was
And who I will be
Expression is trapped within the keys
My expression to you
To make you feel you know who I am
Without becoming vulnerable
Because that’s who I am
Another vulnerable soul
Drifting among so many others
Needing to find the expression
Trapped in the keys

_________________________
Copyright © 2014 Mr. Flying Pig

Leave a Reply

